Faye Wong’s ‘Nothing Compares 2 U’ – Longer Version

Sunnyfacestudio uploaded to YouTube, on 22 Feb 2009, a video for the fuller version of “Nothing Compares 2 U.” The MP3 and video below are from Sunnyfacestudio’s video. This post is an update of yesterday’s “Four ‘New’ Faye Wong Songs!,” in which we published only the brief closing chorus of “Nothing Compares 2 U.” This fuller version is absolutely fantastic! Faye Wong (王菲) has the soul and voice for R&B! Man, I’ve got goosebumps all over listening to this song! I can’t stop listening to it and the other three. One can only imagine what it would be like to have full studio versions of these and other covers in a new album!


5 Responses

  1. This is fantastic! She and Sinead should make music together!

    ah, who are those ppl on the stage? and what on earth are they doing!??! it looks so weird/lame!?

  2. Deb, you nailed that one — those two onstage with Faye “look so weird/lame!” Especially when they’re sitting apart while Faye is performing. This was 1994 and Faye was already gaining superstar status, yet the world had no inkling about the extent to which she would impact the Chinese pop music scene. In her mid-20s, she was already so different that she didn’t fit any of the formulas used with other stars. To this day, I don’t think the industry has fully understood how to present or position Faye. She’s a one-off!

  3. To me it sounds only average. Its kinda like the Bohemian Rhapsody cover and her earlier R&B songs, where she can hit every note but yet she doesn’t sound right (vocally). But she did a better job then Prince himself lol.

    Her best R&B sound is still ‘Superwoman-Live’ during her earlier HK concert.

  4. Oh, yeah! You got that right, Mysticaldodo! Faye’s “Do Dak Ta” from her 1994 HK concert album rocks the soul! That’s one I never get tired of. One of my all time favorites. I’ll have to add that to my list of “Fayve Songs”!

    To sound right, she should probably do R&B in Cantonese with a little bit of English (as in her “Superwoman” cover) instead of all English. Not sure how it would sound in Mandarin.

  5. I’d never listened to her “Shirley Wong” days or her other early songs when I first got to know Faye. So when I heard Do Dak Ta on her concert album, oh my god, I almost fainted. Then it became my all time favourite (especially at kareoke) after that and its still at the top of my list. I rushed out to buy her “Shirley” cds after that!

    The first album I owned was 100,000 Whys, I listened to it on repeat SO many times that when I got into my Maths test, I had Summer of Love stuck in my head so much that I almost failed!!

Leave a Reply

