Perth Tour Music Special 1993 – Faye & Tony

The Perth Tour Music Special 1993 stars Faye Wong (王菲) and Tony Leung Chiu-Wai (梁朝偉). It was uploaded in 6 parts to YouTube by Singsingcookie4 on 21 Feb 2009. This version has the best resolution that I’ve seen. In this special, we see Tony and Faye before they starred together in the Wong Kar-wai (王家衛) classic Chungking Express. This is a romantic comedy that features a few of Faye’s songs. Makes you wish that Faye would do a romantic musical comedy in which she sings some of her songs.

perth1993a

Deb, on 24 Feb 2009 said:

I am so HAPPY that this has been posted because I’m from Perth!! I’ve been here since ‘89, so I’m pretty much from here. I recognise everywhere they show, some of the places don’t even exist anymore. I didn’t really know Faye back in 1993, my first hearing of our 100,000 Whys album was in 1994. But I do remember watching this on VHS back in the day. This was when Faye’s career was taking off and Tony was trying to start a singing career (god knows why?!?!).

This really shows why Faye and Tony have done so much acting together. Tony is an acting veteran and its obvious Faye is very comfortable with Tony and he must have taken good care of her and taught her his craft.

Word of advice – never feed the black swans! They are vicious when it comes to food!! We do have great coffee, we take it very seriously, mainly due to a large italian population, there is NO Starbucks here!

Faye living in a caravan?!?! ahahaha, that’s too funny! Meat pie for brekky? She’s definitely an Aussie!

This makes me feel very close to Faye – she was in my town! If only I met her! Wonder if she liked Perth, it was pretty undeveloped back then, so it wouldn’t have been very exciting at the time. I coulda been a very good tour guide for them even tho I was only 14!

See ya later, mate!

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

5 Responses

  1. I am so HAPPY that this has been posted because I’m from Perth!! I’ve been here since ’89, so I’m pretty much from here. I recognise everywhere they show, some of the places don’t even exist anymore. I didn’t really know Faye back in 1993, my first hearing of our 100,000 Whys album was in 1994. But I do remember watching this on VHS back in the day. This was when Faye’s career was taking off and Tony was trying to start a singing career (god knows why?!?!).

    This really shows why Faye and Tony have done so much acting together. Tony is an acting veteran and its obvious Faye is very comfortable with Tony and he must have taken good care of her and taught her his craft.

    Word of advice – never feed the black swans! They are vicious when it comes to food!! We do have great coffee, we take it very seriously, mainly due to a large italian population, there is NO Starbucks here!

    Faye living in a caravan?!?! ahahaha, that’s too funny! Meat pie for brekky? She’s definitely an Aussie!

    This makes me feel very close to Faye – she was in my town! If only I met her! Wonder if she liked Perth, it was pretty undeveloped back then, so it wouldn’t have been very exciting at the time. I coulda been a very good tour guide for them even tho I was only 14!

    See ya later, mate!

  2. Yo, Deb. You’re lucky to be living in Perth! It looks like a paradise with the quaint architecture, pristine beaches, endless blue skies, and beautiful pine forests. Looks like all the white guys are hitting on Faye — non-stop! Must be a paradise for Asian women! You must be having a ball. And all the Asian guys (OK, the two in the video) are hitting on the white chicks. Faye looks so natural in the role of a young woman having fun. It’s hard to imagine her in the ’90s, walking the streets of New York City or Paris and not being hounded to death by all the guys. LOL!

  3. Perth is very close to Asia, most ppl go to Bali as their first overseas experience. So Aussie guys do like their Asian chicks! (ahahaha says me who’s married to a white boy!) I like to think after 23yrs I’m pretty dinky-di aussie.

    Perth has changed a lot over the years especially since our recent mining boom, but the weather is still sunny (locals can’t even cope when it rains for 5mins), beaches are still clean and there is more open space than you can poke a stick at!

    I’d like to think Faye would like to retire here with the kids. Aussies are WAY too laid back to hound any celebs! ahahaha

  4. LOL! You’re the Faye character who wound up with one of the other guys instead of Tony! Is your husband into Faye, too? Most Westerners don’t have a clue about Faye, but with your influence, he might end up being a Fayenatic!

    Do a lot of Asian tourists go to Perth? I’ll bet Faye and her family will one day vacation there since it’s a part of her history and the family seems to like to relax at the beach.

    The down side to being a great tourist destination is development. After a while, it could end up being a tourist honky tonk.

  5. No, husband is stuck in the 80’s & 90’s when it comes to music. There is a healthy population of Asians in Perth, mainly SE Asian, there is great food here! Not many Hongkies (like me). There is an increase in uni students coming from Asia now too. Sandy Lam just came recently for a concert actually, she came to Perth and Melbourne only.

    Perth is not in danger of over development, if anything we need more, we’ve been so under developed for so many years that we have miles of developing to catch up on! People from big cities see Perth as a big country town, but that’s cool, its ultra laid back!

Leave a Reply

