Who Is This – Singing ‘If You Were Mine’?

OK, this MP3 audio (below) is not Faye Wong (王菲) singing the English version of “If You Were Mine.” The Mandarin version of this song was the title track, “Sky” (Tian Kong), from Faye’s Nov. 1994 album by the same name. But many who have uploaded and written about the English version seem to think it is Faye. If I’m correct in saying that this is not Faye, then who is it? BTW, “Sky” (and “Angel” from the same album) was in the 1994 film Mermaid Got Married, starring Ekin Cheng and Christy Chung.

mermaid_got_married

11 Responses

  1. Whoa!!! Where did this english version of “Sky” come from?? I had no idea “Sky” was not a Faye original… anyway, its definitely not Faye singing it in english, the voice just isn’t the same. The english lyrics… umm… suck? sorry, there was no other word for it, especially when “Sky” lyrics are so well written, its hard not to compare the words. I coulda written better lyrics in high school english!

  2. On 9 March 2009, we received a comment from Fat Tomato
    that ended up in the spam list and was inadvertently deleted. I received an email notice re the comment and here it is:

    Fat Tomato: I don’t have a clue. But has anyone addressed the similarities between Shawn Colvin’s “I Don’t Know Why” and Faye’s “Sky”? “I Don’t Know Why” was released in 1993 and “Sky” was released in 1994.

    I listened to the Colvin video on YouTube and Fat Tomato has a good point:. Colvin’s song, especially the opening, is very similar to Sky. But despite this and other similarities, the songs seem, on the whole, quite different. But the song was composed and written by others for Faye so my guess is that Faye is probably not aware of the similarities. If Sky is a cover of Colvin’s song, then I’m sure she would have insisted on giving Colvin credit. Faye is very careful about this sort of thing.

  3. OK, so just to clarify (I’m a bit confused right now), the MP3 posted on this page for “if you were mine” is still by an unknown singer right? Cos this song is definitely the same as “Sky”.

    But now there’s another song by Shawn Colvin called “I don’t know why” that’s also similar to “Sky”?

  4. DEB: OK, so just to clarify (I’m a bit confused right now), the MP3 posted on this page for “if you were mine” is still by an unknown singer right? Cos this song is definitely the same as “Sky”.

    Sorry about the confusion. Yes, the MP3 English version of “Sky” on this page is still by an unknown singer.

    DEB: But now there’s another song by Shawn Colvin called “I don’t know why” that’s also similar to “Sky”?

    Yes. Check it out here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=67flP6YePgs

  5. OK, you know I’m a real Faye fan, but I have to be honest here. Shawn Colvin’s song (released 1992 in Fat City album) is MUCH too similar to Sky (released Nov 1994). The intro and interlude arrangements are practically identical. Granted, some of the melody is different, but it seems someone has heard Colvin’s song and taken the basic chords and arrangement and “composed” Sky. The accredited composer of Sky is Yang Ming-Huang. I feel the line between ‘sampling’ and ‘composing’ very blurred between these songs, very skeptical.

    I still prefer Sky, I find the melody more interesting and Faye’s voice suits the tone/feel of the song better than Colvin. But feel a bit weird/cheated that the songs are that similar…

  6. Deb, I definitely understand your feelings re “Sky.” I wonder how others feel. If it’s a “real” problem, I wonder what steps Faye and her team ought to take.

  7. I came across “If You Were Mine” almost 10 years ago easily… as soon as I heard it I knew it wasn’t Faye…. but to this day I’ve never been able to find any info on it. :(

    Perhaps it was a fan with good recording equipment who wrote her own english lyrics to the song and just put it on the internet, then someone just mislabeled it? The vocal techniques and lyrics are certainly amateurish enough for that to be the case.

  8. According to search on baidu.com, the song If You Were Mine is sung by Japanese singer 广赖美香. She doesn’t have wikipedia i think, so I can’t find her english name on google.

  9. Thanks, Dan. This seems to be the first clue that we have thus far: “Japanese singer 广赖美香.” I googled it and didn’t come up with much. I did, though, find the lyrics at a Brazilian site, Vagalume:

    If you were mine
    I could love you with my life
    If you were mine
    I’ll be there all the time
    We’ll be so happy just you and me
    ‘Dancin through the night
    ‘Holdin you tight
    I will treat you so right with my heart
    Will you let me
    Open your heart with my love
    Will you let me
    Show you how to be free
    I just want you to be happy
    Let me love you dear
    Deep in my heart
    My love won’t you let me in your heart
    Won’t you tell me if you really wanna hide
    Won’t you tell me if you don’t love me
    I just want you to be happy
    Let me love you dear
    Deep in my heart
    My love won’t you let me in your heart
    I’ve been waiting for that someone just like you
    I wont let go until you say
    Goodbye dear!

  10. Actually sorry to post twice…

    but it is “Hirose Kohmi” “広瀬香美” from her 1997 album “Thousands of Covers (Disc1)”

    http://www.hirose-kohmi.jp/discography/index.html track 7

  11. Hey. The covered version of “Sky” is clear not sung by Faye. Wake up! And, I think it doesn’t matter if Sky similar to some English songs. It’s usually that some songs share similarity. As long as Faye did sing the song sky beautifully. BTW, she did not compose the song though!

Leave a Reply

