Rare Faye Song – ‘Last Christmas’

On 3 March 2009, Deb said, “Oh I just thought of a Rare Song that should be posted. In her 98-99 HK Concert, on Christmas and maybe Xmas Eve too, Faye sang a couple of english songs, one was definitely Last Christmas by Wham. Can we find a recording of this??”

Well, over a year has passed since Deb’s post, and we’ve finally found it! Here is Faye’s live version of “Last Christmas.” The audio quality of the mp3 and video is poor, but we can still get a sense of the beauty of Faye’s rendition. The video version is incomplete, with only a portion of the song. I’ve searched the web, but I haven’t been able to find better recordings.

“Last Christmas” was written by George Michael of the British pop duo Wham! It was released on Epic Records in 1984.

Last Christmas, I gave you my heart
But the very next day you gave it away
This year, to save me from tears
I’ll give it to someone special

Last Christmas, I gave you my heart
But the very next day you gave it away
This year, to save me from tears
I’ll give it to someone
I’ll give it to someone special

Once bitten and twice shy
I keep my distance, but you still catch my eye
Tell me baby, do you recognize me?
Well it’s been a year, it doesn’t surprise me

‘Happy Christmas,’ I wrapped it up and sent it
With a note saying “I love you”, I meant it
Now I know what a fool I’ve been
But if you kissed me now, I know you’d fool me again

Last Christmas, I gave you my heart
But the very next day you gave it away
This year, to save me from tears
I’ll give it to someone special

Last Christmas, I gave you my heart
But the very next day you gave it away
This year, to save me from tears
I’ll give it to someone special
Special
Yea yea

A crowded room, friends with tired eyes
I’m hiding from you, and your soul of ice
I thought you were someone to rely on
Me, I guess I was a shoulder to cry on

[A face on a lover with a fire in her heart]
A friend to discover with a fire in her heart
A man under cover but you tore me apart
Now I’ve found a real love, you’ll never fool me again

Last Christmas, I gave you my heart
But the very next day you gave it away
This year, to save me from tears
I’ll give it to someone special

Last Christmas, I gave you my heart
But the very next day you gave it away
This year, to save me from tears
I’ll give it to someone special

Last Christmas, I gave you my heart
But the very next day you gave it away
This year, to save me from tears
I’ll give it to someone special

4 Responses

  1. Wow, I love both Faye and this song! I never thought the two would come together! Incredible find!

  2. Faye is too talented to perform any songs of any language, any style and any genre.

    Diva.

  3. I agree with Yan Kiat. Faye can do it all. She has an innate feel for songs and how they should be performed, and this ability extends over the full range of genres.

    Her strengths are dynamics and enunciation. Even at the softest levels, her voice is beautiful. Most singers sound good only when their voices are fully extended or loud, but Faye is superb throughout the sound spectrum, soft to loud, low to high.

    Faye’s enunciation is exceptional. She unerringly finds the most beautiful enunciation of the words in her songs — Mandarin, Cantonese, English, French, Japanese, etc. She simply makes the lyrics sound beautiful.

  4. I think Leon Lai fall in love with Faye for the first time from what i see on that video. Haha…..

    Rare occasion to see faye dancing and i wish to see that again in the concert. The first part of the songs, you can feel that faye is feeling for the songs The emotion show by her while singing this song is amazing. I dont think other singer can do that.

    The way she push the guy……really show as well. Looks like faye is talent for broadway too. The xfactor from her in the broadway was so good too. We know they dont do much rehersal during the past. Just keep on promote, albums(3 albums in a year), attending gala, etc

Leave a Reply

