Nick Lee – Faye’s 1998-99 Scenic Tour in China

From: Nick Lee
Date: 17 July 2012
To: feifan

Hi Fei Fan,

This is Nick from Hong Kong.  I just came across your website/blog for the first time today.  It’s an excellent website.  Great job!

I just wish to know more about Faye Wong.  I haven’t been a fan for that long but I’m now convinced that she’s the best!  I went to her most recent concerts in Hong Kong.

I wonder if you could help me.  Do you know the exact details about her 1998-1999 Scenic Tour ?

I know she performed 17 shows at the Hong Kong Coliseum from December 1998 to January 1999.  She then went to perform in Mainland China for the first time with 11 shows in various cities, including Beijing and Shanghai etc.

Do you know the exact dates, venues and cities for the China leg of her Scenic Tour ?    If so, please tell me what they are.  Nobody seems to remember them.

Many thanks and regards,

Nick.

_____________________________________________

Nick, my apologies for the long delay in responding. I’ve been researching, off and on, your question re “the exact dates, venues and cities for the China leg” of Faye’s Scenic Tour 1998–99. The video from the New Year’s Eve HK show is my all-time favorite Faye concert performance. As far as I can tell, the 11 concerts were held in the following 8 mainland China cities:

Oct. 10-11, 1998: Guangzhou, Tianhe Stadium (2 shows)
Oct. 20, 1998: Shenzhen, Shenzhen Stadium (1 show)
Nov. 27-28, 1998: Beijing Capital Indoor Stadium (2 shows)
Dec. 12-13, 1998: Shanghai, Shanghai Sports Centre (2 shows)
Jan. 22, 1999: Foshan, Stadium (1 show)
Jan. 31, 1999: Dongguan, Dongguan Stadium (1 show)
Oct. 9, 1999 Zhuhai, Zhuhai Stadium (1 show)
1999 (1998?): Kunming (1 show)

As you can see, I couldn’t fund much on her Kunming concert — assuming there was one. Also, all this data needs to be checked and verified by others since I’m not sure about its accuracy. Hopefully, others will be able to enlighten us. Since nearly 3 months have passed, you may already have the information. If so, please share it with us.

2 Responses

  1. Hi all, I just wanted to share this video I came across on Youtube. It is super funny and cute and Faye dances and laughs a lot in it. Anyway I hadn’t seen it before. Enjoy!

  2. Hey ! Guys ! Can i know where to get Faye’s EMI CDs such as
    U happy, I’m happy & Chang You in MALAYSIA ???

Leave a Reply

