Four ‘New’ Faye Wong Songs!

This has to be the most exciting discovery in the last four years for Faye Wong (王菲) fans! On 18 Feb. 2009, Sunnyfacestudio uploaded to YouTube a virtual gold mine! The video contains snippets of four popular English songs that I’ve never seen or heard Faye perform. I’m quite sure they’ve never been included in any of her official — or unofficial — albums. The video is from a 1994 TV show.

1. Chorus from “Nothing Compares 2 U” from The Family’s 1981 album by the same name. The song was written by Prince and covered by Sinead O’Connor in 1991.


UPDATE 22 Feb 2009: Click here to see/hear the fuller version of Faye’s rendition of “Nothing Compares 2 U.”

2. “Iko Iko” from Cyndi Lauper’s 1986 album, True Colors.

3. “Purple Rain” from Prince and The Revolution’s 1984 album by the same name.

4. “Love Is Love” from the British pop group Culture Club’s 1985 EP by the same name:

5. All four songs:

7 Responses

  1. Will we see wong faye perform in concert in Toronto Canada

  2. Probably not in 2010.

    This year, the only two cities, thus far, slated for concerts are Shanghai and Beijing, with five performances in each.

    I’m hoping Faye will do a series in Hong Kong from late-December to New Year’s Eve. There has been some talk, but there’s nothing definite.

    Faye at the HK Coliseum is magic!

  3. I see the China concerts as a reintroduction of Faye to the fans and Faye back to “work”. She would need new materials to re-establish herself as top female artist before having a full concert series in HK. Obviously her fame hasn’t diminished since her “retirement”, but I don’t think her “unretirement” would be as effective/impactful/successful without new material. Besides, I’m dying to hear something new!!

  4. I agree, Deb. New material is critical for a concert tour. There have been rumors of her working on releasing a new album this year before the Shanghai-Beijing concerts, but we’ll just have to wait and see. I hope she decides to return to her R&B, rock, and alternative roots for inspiration.

  5. OMG, if she could mix her compositions from “Restless” and “Fable” albums, it would be amazing, maybe with a touch of China-rock. Geez, the wait for a new CD is already difficult, it would be such a huge tease and let down if the rumour doesn’t come true!

  6. I lov Faye’s new 2010 short hair. It reminds me of her android character in 2046. If there is a concert in Canada, I need to go. Are there any other Faye Wong obsessed caucasian guys like me in the USA? Ha ha. I know, it’s crazy. I love seeing Faye Wong happy with Li. I hope that they stay together forever.

  7. Faye played Las Vegas in 1999. we can only hope for her return?

Leave a comment