Rare Songs – I Have a Date with Spring

This song and video qualifies as both a rare song and a rare video. “I Have a Date with Spring” (我和春天有個約會) was added to YouTube by Tunglin7 yesterday, 21 June 2008. I’ve neither seen this video nor heard this song by Faye Wong (王菲). I believe the video was made in 1994, the same year the film by the same name was released. [See Deb’s comment re the possible background of this program. 9.16.08] The film, an adaptation from a stage play, starred Alice Lau (劉雅麗). The audio (below) was ripped from the video.

Faye’s “I Have a Date with Spring”

Faye’s performance is fun to watch. The year is 1994, and her career is on the rise. In this live TV broadcast, Faye isn’t quite prepared to sing the song. She’s off cue at the start, and she acknowledges her mistake with her characteristic whirl and good-natured smile. This is one of the qualities I admire in Faye. She acknowledges and accepts her gaffs on stage with a big smile and gesture, and moves on. No big deal. And the performance is richer for her being so human and natural.

Alice Lau’s video of “I Have a Date with Spring” (see below), was added to YouTube by Nicklee252 on 8 Sep 2007. Her style is very different from Faye’s. I think this scene is from the film, which I’ve never seen. The audio is a rip from the video. It eliminates the long instrumental introduction.

Alice Lau’s “I Have a Date with Spring”

One Response

  1. Judging from the background this was sung at a charity concert in HK. There are tonnes of these during the year, even without any earthquakes etc in China. They are pitting singers against each other to see who can hold the longest note and at the end of the clip you can hear the host say Faye held her note for 11.32s. Some rich person would have sponsored/backed Faye, so if she “won” the competition, that sponsor would donate money.

Leave a comment