Rare Songs – A Better Tomorrow

This is a rare song and video of Faye Wong (王菲) and Sally Yeh (葉蒨文 Yeh Wen Qian) singing “A Better Tomorrow” (明天會更好). The year, I believe, is 1997. (Added 10.7.08: See Deb’s comment re the handover of HK, which occurred on 7.1.97. Click here here for a related post.) The audio was recorded from the video, which was added to YouTube on 2 July 2006 by Muzikube, who has uploaded many of the best Faye videos. If you have a chance to view the video on the YouTube site, be sure to take the time to read the comments. Wild! Some of Faye’s and Sally’s fans are going at it, arguing about who’s better or more famous. It’s kinda sad because from what I’ve seen of them when they’re together, Sally has always been warm and gracious toward Faye, and I think Faye likes and respects Sally in return. I think audiences misunderstand Faye’s seriousness and read it as either being cold, aloof, or angry. I think Faye fans know that she doesn’t fake it by smiling when she doesn’t really feel like it. She is always honest in expressing her feelings.

4 Responses

  1. Nope Faye is just being serious in this performance. Sally Yeh mentioned in the behind the scenes interview saying that Faye wanna memorize the lyrics. And saying Faye is really nice cos when Sally like the shoes Faye is wearing, Faye just took it down and give it to her. Sorta thing.

  2. This is a really cool story, Wubing, about Faye giving Sally her shoes! It fits my impression of Faye. I don’t think she’s capable of really disliking anyone — even Cecilia Cheung! Faye has a warm and gentle heart, and it comes across in all her songs. Nic Tse said something to the effect that she doesn’t have a mean bone in her body. And for that, I’ll always respect Nic. LYP, too, says that Faye has the innocence of a child. I read that as purity of heart. And that’s why everyone who’s ever had a chance to work with her loves her so much — not just costars and celebrities but hairdressers, musicians, attendants, etc. I’ve never heard anyone who’s worked with or gotten to know her utter a bad word about her. The fact that so many major stars and directors value her friendship says a lot about her character, the kind of person she is. I know this is one of the major reasons why I’ll always be a fayenatic. I don’t think there’s another singer on this planet who’s as talented, beautiful, and good as Faye.

  3. oh I totally remember this! It was one of those big shows they did for the handover (hence singing “A better tomorrow”). I LOVED what Faye was wearing. By this time Faye wasn’t too keen on shows like this, not like in her earlier days where she felt obligated to be there. I loved Sally Yeh as a kid, back in the 80’s and early 90’s before Faye came along. I even have Sally’s autograph! I don’t think Faye was being “too cool”, Sally just likes to have lots of hand gestures (very mainstream) but Faye has never been that way, no big deal, but I do remember the mags blew it out of proportion saying they didn’t like each other etc.

  4. Thanks for the date tip, Deb. I added a note in the post re the HK handover. Your comment about the mags making much ado about nothing is also fascinating. It seems Faye’s every breath, every step, every look, every gesture, every word is minutely analyzed by the media, and the bulk of conclusions border on the laughable. It’s no wonder Faye avoids it like the plague. LOL!

Leave a comment