Chelsea – Snippets of Jan 9 Interview

chelsea, on January 16, 2011 said:

snippets of the interview [on 9 Jan. 2011 – Yang Lan interview]


Source: http://v.youku.com/v_show/id_XMjM3MTcwNTQw.html

See related posts: 9 Jan 2011 and 15 Jan 2011.

chelsea, on January 17, 2011, added:

FYI, in the snippets, Faye said:
[loose translation]
– she gets really nervous about doing interviews; (she thought about doing this interview so intensely that) she even dreamed about doing this interview last night
– she is most averse towards pretentiousness
– she didn’t realize that she actually missed being on stage until she was on stage (re: concerts in Beijing and Shanghai)
– she sang the 2001 TV series theme song and the 2010 movie theme song because her husband stars in them
– she attributes the success of Angel Foundation (Yan Ran ji jing hui) entirely to her husband; Lee Yapeng and Yang Lan said that she’s too modest and she responded that false modesty isn’t her thing.

cejan, on January 18, 2011, added:

A complete translation, can’t wait to watch the full interview!

Opening: Recently Faye and her husband Yapeng did an interview together for the first time, and perhaps she hasn’t done an interview for a really long time and that’s why she appear nervous during this one, despite she has been through all the major scenes.

Faye: I don’t do a lot of interviews, and I get nervous every time I have to do interview, and I haven’t had an interview for a long time. I dreamed of myself being in the interview last night. It’s true.

Narrator: Indeed, Faye being a low-profiler seldom does interview, especially after she’s married to Yapeng in 2005, she rarely makes an public appearance.

Yapeng: I think we have a subtle agreement, actually we never really talk about this, that we should not appear publicly together.

Yang Lan: Why is that so?

Faye: Don’t we appear publicly often?

Yapeng: Except for those charity events, we only make an appearance, not interaction.

Narrator: But even in the Smile Angel Foundation fundraising event, Faye doesn’t speak a word. This style of hers extends to her own concert last year.

Faye: Actually I have read a lot of reports claiming that before my concerts start, my agent Katie Chan forbids me from saying anything other than “Thanks” 3 times. I almost burst out laughing.

Yang Lan: Is this a result of celebrity imagemaking?

Faye: No, no. Katie wants me to speak more than just Thanks. But the thing is that in my opinion, I dislike being pretentious the most.

Narrator: Faye held 10 concerts in Beijing and Shanghai last year, what prompts her to return to the stage after leaving the entertainment scene for 6 years?

Yang Lan: Do you miss being on stage, what it feels like to be on stage, and that’s why you decide to return?

Faye: Let me put it this way, I only started to miss it once I got on the stage.

Narrator: If missing the stage is the reason she returns, then the reason she sang the theme song for movie “Eternal Moment” is her husband.

Yang Lan: What is it about this song that attracts you?

Faye: Because he stars in it, of course.

Narrator: In fact this is not the first time Faye sings theme songs for film or drama which features Yapeng, in 2001, Faye sang the theme song for drama “Laughing in the wind”, a duet with Liu Huan.

Faye’s comeback is a huge success, and she credits all this to her husband for doing all the work for Smile Angel Foundation, so she can focus on her comeback concert and takes care of her family.

Faye: I really don’t have anything to say about Smile Angel Foundation, from the beginning idea to execution, and to what we achieve today, it’s really him doing all the work. I didn’t do anything other than make a few appearances.

Yang Lan & Yapeng: You’re just being humble.

Faye: I am never humble, I am just being honest.

[Click here for an update.]

8 Responses

  1. Chelsea, thanks for this video! I really like Faye’s look in this interview. She’s absolutely beautiful. I think we can see why she and Yapeng are close friends with Yang Lan. She puts them both at ease so that they’re more natural. And she’s able to get Faye to talk a lot in a way that’s real and personal. In these clips, we see a side of Faye that only her close friends see — relaxed and fun to hang out with.

    And the secret to Yang Lan’s success is that she doesn’t talk so much. She seems content to remain in the background and allow Faye and Yapeng to just be. And they, in turn, seem very comfortable with her.

  2. he, you can read chinese right? Could you translate it to fine English so we can make a subtitled video of the interview? would be a nice watch for non chinese speakers

  3. keep them coming! and thanks so much~

  4. FYI, in the snippets, Faye said:
    [loose translation]
    – she gets really nervous about doing interviews; (she thought about doing this interview so intensely that) she even dreamed about doing this interview last night
    – she is most averse towards pretentiousness
    – she didn’t realize that she actually missed being on stage until she was on stage (re: concerts in Beijing and Shanghai)
    – she sang the 2001 TV series theme song and the 2010 movie theme song because her husband stars in them
    – she attributes the success of Angel Foundation (Yan Ran ji jing hui) entirely to her husband; Lee Yapeng and Yang Lan said that she’s too modest and she responded that false modesty isn’t her thing.

  5. Chelsea, thanks so much for the translation! I think Faye’s comments in this brief interview remind us why we love her so much. To be direct and honest, to say exactly what one feels instead of what others might want to hear — this has been a trademark of Faye Wong from the very beginning of her career. Consequently, we trust her, believe in her, and admire her. She’s the real thing, genuine, not phony.

  6. A complete translation, can’t wait to watch the full interview!

    Opening: Recently Faye and her husband Yapeng did an interview together for the first time, and perhaps she hasn’t done an interview for a really long time and that’s why she appear nervous during this one, despite she has been through all the major scenes.

    Faye: I don’t do a lot of interviews, and I get nervous every time I have to do interview, and I haven’t had an interview for a long time. I dreamed of myself being in the interview last night. It’s true.

    Narrator: Indeed, Faye being a low-profiler seldom does interview, especially after she’s married to
    Yapeng in 2005, she rarely makes an public appearance.

    Yapeng: I think we have a subtle agreement, actually we never really talk about this, that we should not
    appear publicly together.

    Yang Lan: Why is that so?

    Faye: Don’t we appear publicly often?

    Yapeng: Except for those charity events, we only make an appearance, not interaction.

    Narrator: But even in the Smile Angel Foundation fundraising event, Faye doesn’t speak a word. This
    style of hers extends to her own concert last year.

    Faye: Actually I have read a lot of reports claiming that before my concerts start, my agent Katie Chan
    forbids me from saying anything other than “Thanks” 3 times. I almost burst out laughing.

    Yang Lan: Is this a result of celebrity imagemaking?

    Faye: No, no. Katie wants me to speak more than just Thanks. But the thing is that in my opinion, I dislike being pretentious the most.

    Narrator: Faye held 10 concerts in Beijing and Shanghai last year, what prompts her to return to the
    stage after leaving the entertainment scene for 6 years?

    Yang Lan: Do you miss being on stage, what it feels like to be on stage, and that’s why you decide to
    return?

    Faye: Let me put it this way, I only started to miss it once I got on the stage.

    Narrator: If missing the stage is the reason she returns, then the reason she sang the theme song for
    movie “Eternal Moment” is her husband.

    Yang Lan: What is it about this song that attracts you?

    Faye: Because he stars in it, of course.

    Narrator: In fact this is not the first time Faye sings theme songs for film or drama which features
    Yapeng, in 2001, Faye sang the theme song for drama “Laughing in the wind”, a duet with Liu Huan.

    Faye’s comeback is a huge success, and she credits all this to her husband for doing all the work for
    Smile Angel Foundation, so she can focus on her comeback concert and takes care of her family.

    Faye: I really don’t have anything to say about Smile Angel Foundation, from the beginning idea to
    execution, and to what we achieve today, it’s really him doing all the work. I didn’t do anything other than make a few appearances.

    Yang Lan & Yapeng: You’re just being humble.

    Faye: I am never humble, I am just being honest.

  7. the interview looks remind me of Fable 2001 album,

  8. kenni2046 uploaded a trailer/TV commercial for the interview here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kI6lrYIh8z8
    The full interview will be aired on three days: 1/30, 1/31, 2/1.
    Can’t wait! PLEASE… someone upload it online as soon as it’s aired!!

Leave a comment