Rare Songs – Cheerful Angel

“Cheerful Angel” (愛笑的天使) was written and composed by Faye Wong (王菲) for the inaugural fundraising event held on 26 Dec 2006. (Click below to listen to the song.) The foundation was initiated by Faye and her husband, in cooperation with the Chinese Red Cross, to help children with clefts. Their daughter, Li Yan (李嫣), was born with a cleft in May of that year. “Cheerful Angel” is the official theme song of the charity. There are many versions of this song on the web, but I haven’t found one that sounds really good. This version from st020.com is the best I’ve found thus far. This is an MP3 made from a video downloaded from the site. I’ll keep an eye out for a better recording.

I don’t think this song was ever released on an official CD. Thus, the web versions are all we have. The production is very simple, at least in the versions I’ve heard, and the sound quality isn’t great. Still, the song is moving, capturing the overwhelming and unconditional love that a mother feels for her newborn. In “Cheerful Angel,” we see Faye at her tenderest, vulnerable yet filled with happiness and determination. This will always be one of my favorite songs.

(To play the song, “Cheerful Angel,” click on the arrow.)

6 Responses

  1. Hi. Her voice is great!! Can you tell me where can I get this song? I would love to add it in my iPod.

  2. Hi, Takao. Click here for info on how to download from Faye Wong Today. If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask.

  3. Can anyone give the pinyin lyrics plus english translation?

  4. Re ZYD’s 2009 Remix of Faye’s ‘I Love You’
    Deb: the male voice sounds like a monk chanting…
    Reply: I didn’t think of that. I’m still not sure if it’s an official part of the song or album — it just seems so weird and out of sync. I know that ZYD has an off-beat voice so I’m guessing that it’s him IF it’s really part of the remix. It sounds like someone vocalizing while listening to a song — he can’t really hear himself over the song so he doesn’t know how funny it sounds.

    Re Rare Songs – I Love You
    Deb: Just thinking about this song, the style of it really reminds me of an Aussie band called The Whitlams, whose lead singer has a very unusual male voice. They also sing ballad type songs that are very cool with that hint of longing soulfulness… If only I could get him to cover this song and all the Aussies discovered Faye!
    Reply: I’ll keep my ears open for the Whitlams. I can’t understand why Americans are so slow in warming up to Faye. It seems their interest begins and ends with “Eyes on Me.” You’d think they’d be curious and seek out her other songs. I guess the problem is that most Americans simply can’t get over the language or cultural barrier. If it’s not in English and palatable to Americans, then it doesn’t exist.

    Re Rare Songs – Valentine’s Radio
    Deb: I’m listening to the Yuming version now… she really sounds like a guy… ahaha just a little!
    But I love the retro touch of the 80’s, makes me wanna tease my hair and dance around with my hair brush! :)
    Reply: I thought that, too, that Yuming does sound masculine. And so does Miyuki Nakajima, who sang the original of “Fragile Woman.” It’s funny because Faye’s voice is so different, so distinctly feminine!

    Re Rare Songs – Cheerful Angel
    Deb: Can anyone give the pinyin lyrics plus english translation?
    Reply: I’d be interested in the lyrics and translation, too. It’s one of the most touching songs I’ve ever heard.

  5. Hi Fei Fan, I have just downloaded the song. Thanks for your help!! :D

  6. You’re welcome. Enjoy!

Leave a comment